• Congratulations to the 2021 Civic Engagement Award Winners

    AASCU’s American Democracy Project (ADP) is thrilled to announce the winners of its Civic Engagement Awards. The award ceremony occurred virtually on June 10 during the 2021 Civic Learning & Democratic Engagement (CLDE) Meeting.

    Learn more about the awards and their winners:

    The Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement

    The Barbara Burch Award recognizes exemplary faculty leadership in advancing the civic learning and engagement of undergraduate students and the work of AASCU’s American Democracy Project on campus and/or nationally.

    Judithanne Scourfield McLauchlanJudithanne Scourfield McLauchlan, associate professor of political science and founding director of the Center for Civic Engagement at the University of South Florida St. Petersburg (USFSP) campus, is this year’s winner.

    McLauchlan’s career has been driven by her passion for improving civic education and expanding civic engagement. Her work includes delivering public lectures in the courtroom at the Supreme Court of the United States, directing the White House Comment Line, leading classrooms as a professor, and serving the USFSP campus community as founding director of the Center for Civic Engagement. Not only has she made a profound and lasting impact on her campus, but she has emerged as a leader in civics education in Florida, nationally, and internationally.

    The William M. Plater Award for Leadership In Civic Engagement

    The William M. Plater Award recognizes exemplary leadership of an AASCU chief academic officer in advancing the civic learning of undergraduates through programs and activities that encourage greater knowledge, skills, experiences, and reflection about the role of citizens in a democracy. This award is named after a leader on the original team of provosts who helped envision and launch ADP.

    Mark CanadaMark Canada, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs and professor of English at Indiana University Kokomo, won this year’s award. 

    A longtime champion of student success, Canada was a leading participant in AASCU’s national Re-Imagining the First Year project. He leads the Kokomo Experience and You program, which provides all IU Kokomo students with opportunities for experiential learning, including service learning, and other forms of community engagement.

    Along with three IU Kokomo colleagues, Canada developed Mind Over Chatter, a freely available online curriculum. Funded by the Rita Allen Foundation and RTI International, this set of modules is designed to improve digital literacy through bias mitigation. Canada and his fellow team members have discussed digital literacy in numerous ADP and CLDE forums.

    The John Saltmarsh Award for Emerging Leaders in Civic Engagement

    The John Saltmarsh Award recognizes exemplary early-career leaders who are advancing the wider civic engagement movement through higher education to build a broader public culture of democracy.

    Margot MorganMargot Morgan, assistant professor of political science at Indiana University Southeast, received this year’s award.

    John Saltmarsh—an author and the co-director of the New England Resource Center for Higher Education at the University of Massachusetts, Boston—presented the award to Morgan and commented on the civic learning outcomes that he saw clearly in her work: perspective taking, respectful debate, coalition building, critical judgment, collaboration, problem-solving, negotiation, making political judgements, and seeing things from multiple sides.

    Morgan has served as the ADP Campus Coordinator for IU Southeast since 2017. Her career exhibits a deep commitment to civic engagement and a willingness to work to deliver engagement opportunities. Her transformational work in pedagogy on IU Southeast’s campus enhances the teaching of civic knowledge and skills.