• Coaching Component of Leadership Development Program Continues

    Professional coaching was added to AASCU's Millennium Leadership Initiative (MLI) curriculum in 2016 through a grant from Strada Education Network. While the grant has ended, the results were so powerful that we are continuing the professional coaching for at least another year. Fourteen volunteers, including former AASCU presidents and chancellors and one current president, have offered their time to serve as professional coaches from August 2019 to February 2020.

    Professional coaching within MLI’s curriculum provides valuable insights, guidance and support in promoting innovative, inspired, resourceful leaders for America’s colleges and universities. It helps facilitate the rapid development of each MLI attendee, or protégé, as a leader. The coaches tailor the confidential process to meet needs of each protégé, and the coaches motivate, challenge and encourage their protégés to keep progressing toward their career goals. Without our coaches’ volunteer commitment, we would not have been able to continue this valuable component of the MLI curriculum.

    The MLI team would like to thank each of these wonderful leaders for paying it forward and supporting the next generation of presidents and chancellors.

    Juliette Bell Susan Borrego Cheryl Dozier Muriel Howard

    Juliette Bell 
    Former President,
    University of Maryland Eastern Shore

    Susan Borrego
    Former President, 
    University of Michigan-Flint

    Cheryl Dozier
    Former President, Savannah State University (Ga.)

    Muriel Howard
    Former President, AASCU

    Virginia Horvath Nancy Keniewski Elmira Mangum Frank Pogue

    Virginia Schaefer Horvath
    Former President, State University of New York at Fredonia

    Nancy Kleniewski
    Former President,
    State University of New York College at Oneonta

    Elmira Mangum
    Former President,
    Florida A&M University


    Frank Pogue
    President Emeritus,
    Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

    George Pruitt George Ross Aaron Thompson  

    George Pruitt
    Former President,
    Thomas Edison
    State University (N.J.)

    George Ross
    President Emeritus,
    Central Michigan University

    Aaron Thompson
    President, Kentucky Council
    on Postsecondary Education

    Maria Thompson Karen Whitney George Wright  

    Maria Thompson 
    Former President,
    Coppin State University (Md.)

    Karen Whitney
    Former Chancellor,
    Pennsylvania's State System
    of Higher Education

    George Wright
    President Emeritus, Prairie View A&M University (Texas)