• Millennium Leadership Initiative

    The American Association of State Colleges and Universities’ (AASCU) Millennium Leadership Initiative (MLI) is a premier leadership development program that provides individuals traditionally underrepresented in the highest ranks of higher education the opportunity to develop skills, gain a philosophical overview and build the network needed to advance to the presidency. 

    MLI logo roundMLI was originally conceived by AASCU’s African-American presidents to ensure that the next generation of leaders in higher education reflects the diversity of our nation. The program identifies African-American, Hispanic, Latino, Asian and Pacific Islanders in senior-level positions who are interested in career advancement and helps them achieve that goal. MLI, however, accepts all qualified applicants who meet the requirements.

    For almost 21 years, MLI has reinforced the vital role that diversity plays in the institutional mission, assisting participants to advance in their careers and helping institutions diversify their executive leaderships.

    Video Testimonials

    What's Your Biggest Takeaway as an MLI Grad?

    How Has MLI Helped Shape Your Career?


    MLI Infographics - May 2020

    MLI Map
    Click map to view larger

    2020 Millennium Leadership Initiative Institute

    For information on the 2020 MLI Institute visit aascu.org/meetings/MLI20


    • Karusha Naidoo
      Program Manager, Millennium Leadership Initiative
      (202) 478-4655


    • Map of MLI Presidencies and Chancellorships
      View map
    • MLI Graduates Serving as Presidents/Chancellors/CEOs
      Download pdf
    • News Release
      AASCU names 31 higher education leaders to its 2020 Millennium Leadership Initiative.
      Read news release
    • Career Advancements

      Alexis Montevirgen (Class of 2017) has been selected as President of Los Angeles Pierce College

      Angela Jones (Class of 2019) has been selected as Chief Executive Officer of Washington STEM

      Berenecea Johnson Eanes (Class of 2012) has been selected as Interim President of York College

      Benjamin Akande (Class of 2010) has been selected as President of Champlain College. This marks his second presidency. 

      Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore (Class of 2018) has been selected as Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs of California Polytechnic State University 

      Dwaun Warmack (Class of 2013) has been selected as President of Claflin University. This marks his second presidency.

      Georj L. Lewis (Class of 2013) has been selected as President of Atlanta Metropolitan State College

      José Luis Alvarado (Class of 2018) has been selected as Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs of California State University, Los Angeles 


      Ken Iwama (Class of 2014) has been selected as President of Indiana University Northwest 

      LaTonia Collins Smith (Class of 2019) has been selected as Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs of Harris-Stowe State University

      Roger Ward (Class of 2019) has been selected as Interim Provost, Executive Vice President, and Dean of the Graduate School of University of Maryland Baltimore

      Complete list of MLI Graduates' Career Advancements (pdf)

    • Photo Gallery