• Opps4All - Distinguished Alumni Banner

    2015 DAA Recipient

    Kathy BestKathy Best
    Editor, The Seattle Times
    Masters of Arts in Public Affairs Reporting, 1990
    University of Illinois at Springfield

    The journalism career of three-time Pulitzer Prize winner, Kathy Best, has taken her from coast to coast.  She began at The Seattle Times in 2007 as managing editor of digital news and innovation and was named editor in 2013.  The 2010 Pulitzer for Breaking News Reporting, shared by The Seattle Times staff, followed the killing of four police officers. With Best’s leadership, the paper invited Seattle citizens to contribute tips, photos and videos, using Google Wave and other online sources to inform the community—one of the earliest examples of the use of social media during a community crisis.  Best and her team won a second Pulitzer for investigative reporting in 2012. Once again, Best has led her staff to the industry’s highest honor—the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news for its coverage of the fatal landslide in Oso, Washington, which took the lives of 43 people in March 2014.  Read her full bio

    DAA Recipients

      Dr. Michael Marletta, President and CEO of The Scripps Research Institute, 1973 graduate of State University of New York at Fredonia

      Ivan Seidenberg, Former Chairman and CEO of Verizon Communications, Inc., 1972 graduate of Lehman College – City University of New York

      Julius Chambers, Noted Civil Rights Attorney and Educator, 1958 graduate of North Carolina Central University

      Robin Roberts
      , Good Morning America Co-Anchor, 1983 graduate of Southeastern Louisiana University

      General Ann E. Dunwoody
      , Commanding General, U.S. Army Materiel Command, 1975 graduate of State University of New York College at Cortland

      Hala Moddelmog, President and CEO, Susan G. Komen for the Cure, 1979 graduate of Georgia Southern University

      Tom Brokaw, Journalist and author, University of South Dakota

      Nancy Aossey, President & Chief Executive Officer, International Medical Corps (IMC), The University of Northern Iowa

      Julius H. Jacobson, II, Dr. Emeritus of Vascular Surgery and Distinguished Service Professor of Surgery at Mt. Sinai Medical in New York City, The Unversity of Toledo, Ohio

      General Tommy Franks, Ret. Commander-in-Chief, United States Central Command, The University of Texas at Arlington

      Marvin Hamlisch, Composer and conductor, Queens College, City College of New York

      Amy Tan, Author, San José State University, California

      The Honorable Tom Daschle, Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate (D-SD); South Dakota State University

      Robert A. Ingram, Chief Executive, Glaxo Wellcome, plc; Eastern Illinois University

      General Henry H. Shelton, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; Auburn University at Montgomery

      The Honorable Griffin B. Bell, former United States Attorney General; Georgia Southwestern State University

      Antonia Coello Novello, Visiting Professor of Health Policy and Management, Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health and Special Director for Community Health Policy, former Surgeon General of U.S. Public Health Service; University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus

      Gertrude Belle Elion, Biochemist and Recipient of the Nobel Prize in Medicine; City University of New York, Hunter College

      Leon M. Lederman, Director Emeritus, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and Pritzker Professor of Science, Illinois Institute of Technology; City University of New York, City College

      Sook He Kim, Minister of Education, Republic of Korea; Texas Woman’s University (recipient of the International Distinguished Alumnus Award)

      R.C. Gorman, Artist and Sculptor; Northern Arizona University

      Dan Rather, Journalist and CBS News Anchor; Sam Houston State University, Texas

      General Colin L. Powell, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; City College of the City University of New York

      Eudora Welty, Pulitzer Prize Winning Author; Mississippi University for Women

      Mary Lowe Good, Chair, National Science Board, and Senior Vice President, Technology, Allied Signal, Inc.; University of Central Arkansas

      Douglas J. Heir, world champion wheelchair athlete, legal advocate for senior citizens and persons with disabilities and chairman and chief executive officer, Access, Inc.; Ramapo College of New Jersey

      Katherine Davalos Ortega, Treasurer of the United States; Eastern New Mexico University

      Eva Marie Saint, Academy Award-Winning Actress; Bowling Green State University, Ohio

      James M. Buchanan, Professor, Center for the Study of Public Choice, George Mason University and recipient of Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences; Middle State University, Tennessee and George Mason University, Virginia

      Jaime A. Escalante, Teacher; California State University, Los Angeles

      Shirley Chisholm, Former Congresswoman; City University of New York, Brooklyn College

      Burl Ives, Singer, Actor, Entertainer; Eastern Illinois University

      Rosalynn Carter, mental health advocate, author and former First Lady; Georgia Southwestern College

      Claude E. ZoBell, Professor of Marine Microbiology Emeritus, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Idaho State University

      James M. Bowen, Professor of Virology and Vice President for Academic Affairs, The University of Texas System Cancer Center; Midwestern State University, Texas

      The Honorable Edith Green, Educator and Former Congresswoman from Oregon; Western Oregon State College

      Jim Davis, Cartoonist; Ball State University, Indiana

      The Honorable Robert Dole, U.S. Senator from Kansas; Washburn University of Topeka, Kansas

      Val Fitch, James H. McDonnel Distinguished Professor of Physics, Princeton University, 1980 Nobel Prize Winner; Chadron State College, Nebraska

      Barbara Jordan, Lyndon B. Johnson Public Service Professor, University of Texas, Former Congresswoman from Texas; Texas Southern University

      Paul Woodring, Distinguished Service Professor, Western Washington University, and Former Editor, Education Supplement, Saturday Review; Bowling Green State University, Ohio

      John F. O’Connell, Former Chairman, California State University Board of Trustees, and Former President, Bechtel, Inc.; California State University, Chico

      Merze Tate, International Scholar, Historian, and Former University Professor; Western Michigan University

      Donald F. McHenry, Former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations; Illinois State University

      Wilson Riles, Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, State of California; Northern Arizona University

      Ruth Chickering Clusen, Former President of the League of Women Voters and Assistant Secretary for Environment, U.S. Department of Energy; University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

      Marvin L. Stone, Former Editor, U.S. News & World Report; Marshall University, West Virginia

      The Honorable Val Peterson, Former Governor of Nebraska and Former Ambassador to Denmark and Finland; Wayne State College, Nebraska

      The Honorable Philip Sanchez, Former U.S. Ambassador to the Honduras; California State University, Fresno

      James A. Michener, Author and Pulitzer Prize Winner; University of Northern Colorado

      Leslie H. Warner, Former Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, General Telephone and Electronics Corporation; Wichita State University, Kansas

      Julian Goodman, Former President, National Broadcasting Company; Western Kentucky University

      President Lyndon B. Johnson; Southwest Texas State University