• Protégé Selection Process

    Criteria for Admission: Successful applicants will demonstrate the leadership experience necessary to achieve a presidency or chancellorship in higher education or to advance to vice president or provost. In addition to the above experience, candidates must possess a terminal degree or have significant experience as a senior executive. Equivalent experience outside the academy in government or the private sector is acceptable. All candidates must be nominated by a president or chancellor, or by a chief operating officer from a large complex university or organization.

    Protégés will:

    1. Commit to the yearlong component;
    2. Provide current vitae information;
    3. Share any revisions or additional information to their vitae;
    4. Confer and choose the best method and frequency for communication that works for both mentor and protégé;
    5. Confer with the mentor to identify leadership opportunities in higher education;
    6. Provide a mid-year status report and a concluding evaluation of the experience; and
    7. Notify the Director of the MLI, in a timely manner, of any problems or difficulties.

    • Karusha Naidoo
      Program Manager, Millennium Leadership Initiative
      (202) 478-4655

    • News Release
      29 Future Higher Education Leaders Named to AASCU’s 2019 Millennium Leadership Initiative.
      Read news release
    • News

      Amy Sueyoshi (Class of 2018) has been selected as Dean for College of Ethnic Studies of San Francisco State University

      Bonita Brown (Class of 2010) has been selected as Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer of Northern Kentucky University

      Daniel Wubah (Class of 2005) has been selected as President of Millersville University  

      Dwaun Warmack (Class of 2013) has been selected as President of Claflin University. This marks his second presidency.

      Georj L. Lewis (Class of 2013) has been selected as Interim President of Atlanta Metropolitan State College

      Lesia Crumpton-Young (Class of 2017) has been selected as Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs of Morgan State University

      Mary Ann Villarreal (Class of 2018) has been selected as Vice President for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion of University of Utah

      Saúl Jiménez-Sandoval (Class of 2018) has been selected as Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs of California State University, Fresno

      Willie Banks (Class of 2017) has been selected as Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs of the University of California, Irvine

      Complete list of MLI Graduates' Career Advancements (pdf)

    • Photo Gallery