• ADP Steering Committee

    As advisors and thought partners to the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU)’s American Democracy Project (ADP), the ADP Steering Committee is comprised of talented and thoughtful individuals who are dedicated to the collective purpose of preparing the next generation of informed and engaged citizens. The role of the Steering Committee is not only to provide guidance and expertise on the design and development of programs and practices that are integral, relational, organic, and generative, but also to champion these efforts and envision the thriving democracy we aspire to enact and support through our work. ADP Steering Committee meetings are also attended by ad hoc members, notably the current Civic Fellows and our recent ADP Civic Engagement Award winners.

    Willie Redmond
    Chair, Professor of Economics—Marketing
    Southeast Missouri State University
    ADP Steering Committee Chair

    Elizabeth Parmelee
    Associate Vice President of Undergraduate Studies
    Metropolitan State University of Denver (CO)
    ADP Steering Committee Chair-Elect

    Tim Eatman
    Dean of the Honors Living-Learning Community and Associate Professor of Urban Education
    Rutgers University–Newark (NJ)
    ADP Steering Committee Member-Elect

    Peg Gray-Vickrey
    Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
    Texas A&M University - Central Texas
    ADP Steering Committee Outgoing Chair

    Robert Ducoffe
    Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs
    University of Wisconsin-Parkside

    Mary A. Evins
    Research Professor and Coordinator, American Democracy Project
    Middle Tennessee State University

    David Hoffman
    Director of the Center for Democracy and Civic Life
    University of Maryland, Baltimore County

    Jyl Josephson
    Professor of Political Science and Women’s and Gender Studies
    Rutgers University–Newark (NJ)

    Molly Kerby
    Assistant Provost for Institutional Effectiveness and Professor of Sociology
    Western Kentucky University

    Steven D. Koether
    American Democracy Project Coordinator
    Sam Houston State University (TX)

    Alison Rios Millett McCartney
    Professor, Department of Political Science, and Faculty Director, Honors College
    Towson University (MD)

    Eric Morrow
    Dean, College of Liberal & Fine Arts, and Associate Professor of Political Science
    Tarleton State University (TX)

    Julie Mowrer
    Acting Director, Center for Community Engagement, and Director, English Language Institute
    University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo

    Mel Netzhammer
    Washington State University Vancouver

    Clarenda Phillips
    Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Professor of Sociology
    Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

    Kim Schmidl-Gagne
    Assessment and Accreditation Officer
    Keene State College (NH)

    Rebekah (Bekah) Selby
    Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Economics
    Emporia State University (KS)

    Melinda Treadwell
    Keene State College (NH)

    Walteria Tucker-Rolle
    Academic Senate Vice-Chair and American Corner Director
    The University of the Bahamas