• Christa McAuliffe Excellence in Teacher Education Award

    CM Award Web Banner

    Named in honor of Christa McAuliffe, a high school teacher from Concord, New Hampshire and a crew member of the Space Shuttle Challenger, this award honors exemplary teacher education program at AASCU institutions. Specifically, it recognizes programs that have done an exemplary job of using evidence of their graduates’ impact on P-12 learning outcomes to inform improvements to their pre-service preparation and professional development programs. To win this award, teacher education and professional development programs must not only demonstrate effectiveness in producing P-12 learning outcomes, but also explain how they have redesigned their programs as a result of these P-12 learning outcomes.

    Review and Selection Process

    AASCU’s Committee on Teacher Education, which includes education deans from the Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities (TECSCU), will screen applications to determine winners.

    Image Credit: "Christa McAuliffe" by NASA Johnson, CC BY-NC 2.0, cropped


    • Past Winners

      2021: Sam Houston State University (Texas)

      2019: California State University, Bakersfield

      2018: Northwest Missouri State University

      2017: The University of Toledo (Ohio)

      2016: Ball State University (Ind.)

      2014: California State University, Fresno

      2014: Hunter College (CUNY)

      2013: Valdosta State University (Ga.)

      2011: Black Hills State University (S.D.)

      2010: Western Oregon University

      2009: University of Houston – Clear Lake (Texas)

      2008: Towson University (Md.)

      2008: Western Kentucky University

      2007: St. Cloud State University (Minn.)

      2007: University of Northern Colorado

      2007: Western Carolina University (N.C.)

      2006: Northwest Missouri State University

      2006: University of North Carolina – Wilmington

      2005: Ball State University (Ind.)

      2005: Old Dominion University (Va.)

      2004: Longwood University (Va.)

      2004: University of Central Florida

      2004: Valdosta State University (Ga.)

      2003: Central Michigan University

      2003: San Diego State University (Calif.)

      2003: University of Nebraska – Omaha

      2003: University of Toledo & Bowling Green State University (Ohio)

      2002: East Carolina University

      2002: Indiana State University

      2002: University of Maryland, Baltimore County